Waiting On Wednesday (10)

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Title: Meant to Be

Author:   Lauren Morrill

Publisher: Delacorte

Release Date: November 13th 2012

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Meant to be or not meant to be . . . that is the question.

It’s one thing to fall head over heels into a puddle of hazelnut coffee, and quite another to fall for the—gasp—wrong guy. Straight-A junior Julia may be accident prone, but she’s queen of following rules and being prepared. That’s why she keeps a pencil sharpener in her purse and a pocket Shakespeare in her, well, pocket. And that’s also why she’s chosen Mark Bixford, her childhood crush, as her MTB (“meant to be”).

But this spring break, Julia’s rules are about to get defenestrated (SAT word: to be thrown from a window) when she’s partnered with her personal nemesis, class-clown Jason, on a school trip to London. After one wild party, Julia starts receiving romantic texts . . . from an unknown number! Jason promises to help discover the identity of her mysterious new suitor if she agrees to break a few rules along the way. And thus begins a wild goose chase through London, leading Julia closer and closer to the biggest surprise of all: true love.

Because sometimes the things you least expect are the most meant to be.

The idea of the book sounds like a sweet, cute, fun read. And, I love how “defenestrated” is used in the book summary above since I learned it in history last year! But, seriously, doesn’t this sound like a great Chick Lit novel??! I feel like Julia would be an entertaining character to read about as she tackles some unexpected obstacles ahead of her. Also, love, love, LOVE this cover! The colors, the grass, the couple! It’s all amazing! Although I feel like I can tell the ending already, I am definitely going to grab this book soon!

Title: My Beautiful Failure

Author: Janet Ruth Young

Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers

Release Date: November 13th 2012

GOODREADS SUMMARY

A haunting account of a teen boy who volunteers at a suicide hotline and falls for a troubled caller. Billy is a sophomore in high school, and twice a week, he volunteers at Listeners, a suicide hotline.

Jenney is an “incoming,” a caller, a girl on the brink.

As her life spirals out of control, Jenney’s calls become more desperate, more frequent. Billy, struggling with the deteriorating relationship with his depressed father, is the only one who understands. Through her pain, he sees hope. Through her tears, he feels her heart. And through her despair, he finds love. But is that enough?

Acclaimed author Janet Ruth Young has written a stunning and powerful story with no easy answers; it is about pain and heartbreak, reality and illusion, and finding redemption and the strength to forgive in the darkest of times.

This is insane, but very real. I could not imagine volunteering at a suicide hotline. I don’t think I could do it and I’m amazed by this boy who does. The title, My Beautiful Failure, was the first thing that caught my eye because those words are usually not used together. I cannot wait to see what lies inside this book. I’m guessing that it will be an emotionally harder read than most and will teach me many lessons.

Title: Undeadly

Author: Michele Vail

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Release Date: November 20th 2012

GOODREADS SUMMARY

The day I turned 16, my boyfriend-to-be died. I brought him back to life. Then things got a little weird…

Molly Bartolucci wants to blend in, date hottie Rick and keep her zombie-raising abilities on the down-low. Then the god Anubis chooses her to become a reaper-and she accidentally undoes the work of another reaper, Rath. Within days, she’s shipped off to the Nekyia Academy, an elite school that trains the best necromancers in the world. And her personal reaping tutor? Rath. Who seems to hate her guts.

Rath will be watching closely to be sure she completes her first assignment-reaping Rick, the boy who should have died. The boy she still wants to be with. To make matters worse, students at the academy start turning up catatonic, and accusations fly-against Molly. The only way out of this mess? To go through hell. Literally.

After Inbetween by Tara Fuller, I have been dying to get my hand on some other reaper books. Then, BAM! I find this book, and it’s as if my prayers have been answered! 😀 A reaper academy?? I say, “YES”! Haha I cannot wait to read about Molly and Rath! I feel like they will be very entertaining favorite characters. Although, there is a major twist with Rick… The guy that’s supposed to be dead… Yeah, I can’t wait for the release!

What books are you waiting on?

14 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday (10)

  1. frodosco says:

    Great picks! Meant to Be has been a pretty popular pick and Undeadly looks pretty good too! Thanks for sharing. ^.^ If you would like to check out my Waiting On Wednesday you can do so here. 🙂

  2. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    Meant to Be sounds incredibly cute, but I’ll maybe look out for your thoughts first because I’m unsure. Although I like the idea of a mystery texter.

    oooh, Undeadly sounds great. Reapers are definitely become a big thing in YA fiction at the moment.

    Great picks! 🙂

Leave a reply!