Summer Book Recommendations

SUMMER

I know summer is almost over, but I thought it’d still be fun to share my summer book recommendations. We still have about half of July and most of August! Plus summer time is perfect for catching up on reading and trying new books.

cute contemporaries (summer)

For me, summer screams contemporaries. I tend to lean towards fantasy, but during the summer I find myself drawn towards the contemporary titles instead. It might be the nostalgia that comes with summer vacation or the fun adventures or the swoony romances or the new experiences that make contemporaries so compelling in the summer. Maybe it’s the sunny weather that makes a person want to read something light and fun. I’m not quite sure, but summer has always been the perfect time for a cute contemporary! (Sidenote: I’m an idiot and misspelled Kasie’s name to Katie… Please forgive)

ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS | LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR | ISLA AND THE HAPPILY EVERY AFTER BY STEPHANIE PERKINS 

Stephanie Perkins is a QUEEN of contemporaries! For the longest time I avoided Anna and the French Kiss due to its title, and I wholeheartedly regret making that mistake. I needed this book in my life!!! Perkins has an amazing way with capturing adorable romances that will have you falling head over heels for all her male leads and cheering for all her MCs. Also it’s always fun to see the characters overlap in each other’s stories. (Check out my review of Isla and the Happily Every After!)

THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US | ON THE FENCE | THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND BY KASIE WEST

Kasie West contemporaries are sweet, light, and fun reads. It’s like having a puffy cloud in the form of a book (with lots of floating hearts too). They’re quick reads that will have you smiling throughout most of the book.

SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE | AMY AND ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR | SECOND CHANCE SUMMER | THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING BY MORGAN MATSON

Morgan Matson has written multiple great contemporaries, but (I hate to admit) I’ve only read Since You’ve Been Gone and The Unexpected Everything. Although I have yet to read her other 2 books, I’m already so obsessed that I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend any book by Matson! Her books are filled with fun adventures, cute romances, and heartwarming friendships. (Sidenote: I just finished The Unexpected Everything, and that book was the epitome of SUMMER!)

MY LIFE NEXT DOOR | THE BOY MOST LIKELY TO | WHAT I THOUGHT WAS TRUE BY HUNTLEY FITZPATRICK

Huntley Fitzpatrick caught my attention after My Life Next Door because Samantha and Jase were just the best! Fitzpatrick writes genuine contemporaries with wonderful romances. (Check out my review of My Life Next Door!)

time to binge (summer)

Although summer can be jam-packed with vacations and extracurriculars and work, I always have more time to read than during the school year. With all the time freed up due to lack of school, I think summer is the perfect time to find new authors and binge-read ALL of their books. Because why not?

throne of glass series | a court of thorns and roses series by sarah j. maas

Sarah J. Maas is a master of creating interesting, unique worlds and intricate plot lines and badass heroines and steamy romances and startling plot twists and ALL THE FEELS. If you’re a fan of fantasy, you NEED to pick up her books NOW! Throne of Glass is about a girl assassin, who must act as the prince’s champion in the competition to find the new royal assassin. And ACOTAR is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast with faeries. (Check out my review of Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight!)

The mortal instruments series | the infernal devices series | the bane chronicles | tales from the shadowhutner academy by cassandra clare

If you’ve been around the blogosphere, then you’ve must of heard of Cassandra Clare. And you must have already read all her books. But I still think Cassandra Clare books are great books that deserve to be reread, especially the TID series. If by some unbelievable reason you haven’t read a Cassandra Clare book, I recommend reading the books in the order they came out. Enjoy binge reading about the awesome Shadowhunter world!

GRACELING | FIRE | BITTERBLUE by kristin cashore

In my opinion, Graceling is VERY underrated and should be given way more love than it gets. Kristin Cashore created a beautiful intricate world where people with two different colored eyes are gifted with a special skill. Fire takes place before Graceling and Bitterblue afterwards. All these books are fantastic, and you should give yourself enough time to immerse yourself into the world of Graceling. (Check out my review of Bitterblue!)

beach reads (summer) (4)

Summer wouldn’t be summer without a visit to the beach, or at least imagining you’re at the beach while you’re in reality only suntanning at the pool. These books all involve a beach setting, which is perfect for the summer time when all you want to do is read a book at the beach.

WE WERE LIARS by e. lockhart

We Were Liars follows Cadence Sinclair or Cady after an accident that has left her memory with holes. The book takes place at Beechwood Island, which is a summer island home for the Sinclair family. E. Lockhart’s writing throughout We Were Liars was hauntingly beautiful, and the book is filled with mystery, love, friendship, family, self-discovery, humor, and plenty of surprises. (Check out my review of We Were Liars!)

THE SUMMER I TURNED PRETTY | IT’S NOT SUMMER WITHOUT YOU | WE’LL ALWAYS HAVE SUMMER by jenny han

How could I not put this series on this list? Summer is in the freaking title!!! This series follows Belly, who always spends her summers at the beach house with Susannah, Jeremiah, and Conrad, and her romance with the two brothers. The Summer I Turned Pretty is all about summer at the beach, and I had so much nostalgia while reading it. I’d also recommend checking out Jenny Han’s other series To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

THIS IS WHAT HAPPY LOOKS LIKE by jennifer e. smith

This is What Happy Looks Like is about Ellie who accidentally becomes a pen pal to movie star Graham, and their romance following his decision to shoot his next movie in her small town. Jennifer E. Smith created a dreamy romance that will for sure leave a smile on your face.

RULES OF SUMMER by joanna philbin

Rules of Summer follows Rory, who signed up to be the Rule’s summer errand girl in exchange for a summer in a mansion in the Hamptons, and Isabelle, who is the youngest Rule child that begins a relationship with a much older guy. It’s a light-hearted read with plenty of drama and feel-good moments.

under the sea (summer)

I already covered the beach, so now I’m onto the books about the sea. Totally accidental, but I didn’t realize till later that most of these books are about mermaids. But who doesn’t love mermaids?

percy jackson and the olympians series by rick riordan

Well these books don’t technically have to do with the sea, but Percy Jackson is the son of POSEIDON, god of the sea. And I can’t help but shamelessly plug one of my favorite series ever. Plus these books are totally binge-worthy! They’ve got great friendships, lots of humor, epic adventures, greek mythology, prophecies, lots of fighting, a little romance, and just a bunch of awesomeness!

FORGIVE MY FINS | FINS ARE FOREVER | JUST FOR FINS by tera lyn childs

I adored this series when I was younger. Who else didn’t want to be a mermaid princess? It’s a cute, quick read about a mermaid princess who has been living on land and develops a crush on super cool swimmer Brody. But her romance doesn’t go exactly as planned and we’re in for a hysterical ride. The romance was cute and the book was quick read that’s ideal for laying out in the sun at the beach.

LIES BENEATH | DEEP BETRAYAL | PROMISE BOUND by anne greenwood brown

It’s another mermaid/siren series, but this one follows a male POV and these mermaids are more murderous than friendly. It’s filled with chilling and suspenseful moments, twists and turns, and a fast-paced romance that is still enjoyable. It’s a different take on the usual friendly mermaids, and I enjoyed reading from a male’s POV. (Check out my review of Lies Beneath!)

OF POSEIDON | OF TRITON | OF NEPTUNE by anna banks

This series is about mermaids who call themselves the Syrena. Galen, is the prince of Syrena, who is looking for a girl who can communicate with fish, which turns out to be Emma. There’s dual POVs, lots of sass and laughs, a romance between clashing personalities, and cool mermaid mythology! (Check out my review of Of Poseidon!)

Hope y’all enjoyed my summer recs!

what are your favorite summer reads? any recommendations?

THANKS FOR READING VIVALABOOKS!

Follow on Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “Summer Book Recommendations

  1. Stacie says:

    I love your collages and different genres to pick from. It’s so pretty! I tend to be like you where I’ll read mostly fantasy books, but during the summer I love fun, light hearted contemporary books! I’ll have to check out some of the ones you listed.

  2. divabooknerd says:

    We’re actually in winter here at the moment, perfect for transporting readers to a warm summer coastline. Jennifer E Smith is perfect for quick afternoon reads for romances with adventure isn’t she. I love how there’s not a lot of real depth or heavy issues, but just heartwarming reads. Percy Jackson is another one I always recommend to anyone who’ll listen, but there’s so many books here that I haven’t read too and looking forward to checking them out. Fantastic post, really enjoyed it! ❀

    • Vivalabooks says:

      Yes, I totally agree! Jennifer E. Smith is always good when you want a lighthearted read with a sweet romance. And yay another Percy Jackson fan! I’m obsessed with Rick Riordan. πŸ™‚ I hope you found some books to check out! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a reply!

