Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins | Book Review

 RATING: Stephanie Perkins has done it again! (4/5) // AMAZON

Pages: 339 pages | Publisher: Dutton

Format: Hardcover | Source: Bought Age Group: Young Adult

9627755GOODREADS SUMMARY

Love ignites in the City That Never Sleeps, but can it last?

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

Cover ThoughtsI absolutely adore the cover of Isla and the Happily Ever After. I love the color scheme, the white font, and the city landscape in the background. The whole aesthetic of the cover is on point!
teal

Stephanie Perkins is a queen of contemporaries. Without a doubt, she was the first author who got me obsessed with contemporaries, so imagine my surprise when I realized that JOSH was that Josh from Anna and the French Kiss. (You know, the Josh who was Etienne’s friend and dating Rashmi?!?) I don’t know why, but I never got that memo until I started reading the book. Thus my already extremely high excitement doubled afterwards.

Isla was a new character and I found her to be very likable. I think many people will be able to relate with her. Isla isn’t exactly passionate about one thing. She has a lot of interests, but hasn’t found that one thing that sparks a fire in her, like art does for Josh. To be honest, most high schoolers and college students completely understand this issue. Somehow we’re supposed to have an idea of what we want to do for the rest of our lives when we enter and leave college. I’m a senior in high school and I have no idea what I want to do for the rest of my life because of the endless possibilities. Not only is Isla going through a very relatable time in her life, but her personality is weirdly charming. We’re all a little awkward, so although you cringed a little at Isla’s awkwardness it was hilarious and adorable at the same time.

I absolutely loved Josh and Isla together. They were so awkwardly cute in the beginning. I’m not joking about the awkwardness… Let’s just say some scenes made me want to hide under the covers, but it was still somehow undeniably adorable. Their chemistry was off the charts! Their first month together was incredibly magical and their happiness was contagious, like goofy grinning contagious. Their romance happened quickly, like a whirlwind, but it didn’t feel like insta-love. They just fit so well together. Unfortunately there was some bumps in the road for the two of them. Honestly I was a little annoyed by the drama because it was an easy fix that both just didn’t want to see. But overall their romance was intoxicatingly beautiful.

Art plays a huge part in this book, making me wish, even more than usual, that I was born with some artistic talent. Stephanie Perkins’s writing made Josh’s drawings come to life and it was almost like you could see and feel the colors. Some day in the future I would love to see this book with illustrations. That would be stunning!

Stephanie Perkins has done it again! I went in with high expectations, despite the mixed reviews, and they were definitely met. If you’ve read Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door, then get excited for cameos of your favorite characters. No joke, so much fangirling happened in this book. I’ve read a lot of romances, but Isla’s and Josh’s romance is high on my list of favorite romances. If you’re a fan of contemporaries, romances, art, and Europe, please do yourself a favor and pick up this book!

 

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Isla and the Happily Ever After

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a reply!

