Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard | Book Review

 RATING: One of My Favorites From 2015! (5/5) // AMAZON

Pages: 383 pages | Publisher: Harper Teen

Format: Hardcover | Source: Bought Age Group: Young Adult

17878931GOODREADS SUMMARY

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart…

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

Cover ThoughtsI like the simplicity of the cover. The upside crown dripping with red blood fits perfectly with the book, and the silver metallic background looks great in person. Plus you’ll be in complete agreement with the phrase on the bottom“power is a dangerous game”by the end of the book.
teal

Red Queen is SO GOOD! If you thought the synopsis was interesting, wait till you actually read the book. The story immediately had me hooked, and I finished Red Queen in less than a day.

Before I even picked up Red Queen, I was intrigued by the world’s caste system of red and silver blood. Who knew silver blood could make such a big difference? It wasn’t until I started reading Red Queen that I fully began to comprehend the powers silver blood held—like the ability to read minds or control electricity. Victoria Aveyard does an amazing job with the world building in Red Queen. Everything from the royal court rivalries to the powers from the silver blood to the growing rebellious Scarlet Guard fascinated me. Most of the world building in Red Queen focused on the realm of the royals, so I’m really excited to see Aveyard expand on this world, especially on the growing war.

In Red Queen we follow the story of Mare, who somehow ended up having special powers despite her red blood. I really enjoyed reading from Mare’s POV, and I loved seeing her strength grow throughout the book. She genuinely tried to do her best for what she believed in. Some of my favorite moments from Red Queen were when Mare couldn’t keep her mouth shut despite the obvious need to just stop talking. LOL. But I was slightly (emphasis on slightly) annoyed with how trusting Mare was given her hostile environment. Sometimes I felt like I was more on edge than Mare.

So there is romance… OK I admit I picked a boy that I’m rooting for, but romance is not the main factor in Red Queen. It’s only an underlying part of the book that gradually grows as the reader gains interest, but the romance does not take away from the story at all. Instead Aveyard focused on advancing the plot. Honestly I feel like the romance took a back seat to the plot and world building and Mare’s character development in Red Queen, which I truly enjoyed.

I’ve been going on and on about the amazing plot line, so was it really that good?? YES. Aveyard spent most of Red Queen weaving together a complicated web crawling with untrustworthy characters, unreliable truths, and questionable alliances. There’s so much going on that keeps you on the edge of your seat, so there’s never a dull moment. The lack of trust is prevalent throughout Red Queen, and you never know who Mare should actually trust. It’s a read that slowly builds up intensity, but there is a constant creeping sense of danger; one wrong move and Mare is dead. But that ending!!! It was a like an explosion of truth, and my emotions were all over the place.

Red Queen is one of my favorite reads from 2015. You know that high you get from finishing an amazing book? That’s exactly the feeling I had after finishing Red Queen. Not only did it begin to take over my mind, but I immediately began shoving it into the faces of my friends. I would definitely recommend Red Queen to fans of strong heroines and unique worlds and nail-biting plots. I cannot wait to see what happens in Glass Sword!

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Red Queen

Let’s discuss at my Book Talk!

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard | Book Review

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I did really like the plot twist at the end…I mean, WOAH DID NOT SEE THAT COMING. I have to admit though, I kind of felt the plot borrowed from a lot of other YA novels. *shrugs* But that could be because I read a lot?! So it’s hard for me to find something “original” sounding. hehe. But I’m definitely reading the sequel! AND ALL THE COVER LOVE. The hardcover is so so beautiful.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

Leave a reply!

