The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey | Book Review

16101128
Pages:
 457 pages | Publisher: Putnam | Format: Hardcover

Source: Bought | Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

5

Rating:  Dystopian lovers, this is a must-read!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

Cover Thoughts

To be perfectly honest I’m kind of indifferent to this cover. It never really stood out in my mind, and it didn’t motivate me to pick up the book. But the cover definitely goes well with the apocalyptic feel of The Fifth Wave.

teal

YES!!!! This is how dystopian should be done! The 5th Wave was an intense, nail-biting, edge-of-the-seat read. I was a little worried about all the hype surrounding The 5th Wave, but Rick Yancey did not disappoint. It was a bit of a slow buildup, but I was instantly drawn to Cassie’s voice and found myself begging for more with each flip of the page.

Imagine Earth being attacked by aliens. There isn’t one instantaneous huge attack, but multiple waves of destruction that dwindle the majority of the world’s population. Only a handful of paranoid survivors are left and hope is fleeting. This is the world Yancey created in The 5th Wave. Everything seemed familiar, yet nothing was the same.

Even if you’re not a fan of Sci-Fi, don’t let the alien aspect of the book turn you away. Although aliens are a large part of this story, The 5th Wave mainly focuses on the story of the survivors. Plus, Yancey’s aliens are not your standard green Martians. A lot of mystery surrounds these galactic creatures.

Personally I’m a fan of getting different perspectives of a story, so I really enjoyed the multiple POVs throughout The 5th Wave. But I wish that Yancey could have specified whose POV it was because sometimes I had to wait 5-10 pages until I figured it out. And, even though I love multiple POVs, I constantly found myself waiting for Yancey to change back into Cassie’s POV.

Cassie played a big part in why I loved The 5th Wave so much. Her character was very relatable, because I also have a younger brother (even though he’s more annoying than sweet) who I would do anything for. In general Cassie before the Arrival was very relatable with her unrequited-long-time crush being the biggest of her worries, but Cassie after the Arrival transformed into one of the toughest girls in YA while retaining that familiarity. Cassie doesn’t back down, she doesn’t give up, and she fights for survival. Her reactions felt similar to the ones I would have in her situation, and her sarcastic attitude and unwavering determination made me want to keep reading on.

How can I not mention Evan Walker? *sigh* Dreamy, swoon-worthy Evan Walker. He’s a mystery from the beginning, but it’s impossible not to fall for his good looks, charm, and sweet heart. I don’t want to spoil too much, but I’m Team Walker all the way!

It took me a while to get over my fear of the hype, but The 5th Wave was a fantastic read that I would highly recommend. And don’t let the size bother you because you’ll reach the end before you know it. Rick Yancey’s writing style was exceptional, and he does a great job in weaving in all the characters and plotlines together. Despite the slow beginning, The 5th Wave is filled with twists and ends with a BANG. I cannot wait to see what lies ahead in The Infinite Sea!

BOOK TRAILER:

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of The 5th Wave?

Let’s discuss at my Book Talk!

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey | Book Review

Leave a reply!

