To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Book Review

18051352

Pages:
 355 pages | Publisher: Simon & Schuster | Format: Hardcover

Source: Bought | Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Lara Jean keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her.

They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her, these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

4

RatingFans of contemporaries will not want to miss this story!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

Cover Thoughts

The first words that popped into my mind when I saw the cover of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before were: girly, cute, fun, & vintage. Immediately I thought it seemed like a cute contemporary. Plus, I loved the expo marker typography used for the title! And when I opened the full book jacket I fell in love with Laura Jean’s room which was very tumblr-worthy.

teal

I apologize for such a late review. I read this a couple of months ago, but I never got to posting a review due to school.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is probably one of my top/favorite reads from 2014. The synopsis left me waiting for months in advance in eager anticipation, and it did not disappoint. I couldn’t imagine having all my crushes read love letters I had written to them, like Laura Jean. Just the thought makes me want to crawl under my blankets and never leave. Despite how mortifying Laura Jean’s situation would be in real life, it made for a cute, entertaining read.

Once Laura Jean realizes her love letters have been mailed off to her crushes, she is in instant panic mode (who blames her!), especially since one of those letters is going to Josh – her older sister’s recent ex-boyfriend and Laura Jean’s current crush. Yeah, talk about disastrous.

Jenny Han does a wonderful job of giving Laura Jean a realistic teenage girl’s voice who is worried about very realistic teenage issues. In order to save face in front of Josh, Laura Jean starts a fake relationship with Peter, a love letter recipient and one of the most popular guys in her grade with a scary vindictive ex.

Afterwards, Jenny Han does an excellent job portraying Laura Jean and Peter’s complicated relationship. I don’t want to spoil too much, but I found myself to be a fan of Peter, which I wasn’t expecting. The situations Laura Jean found herself in seemed very believable and most of time left me smiling or giggling or blushing.

Another reason I enjoyed To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before was how unique the overall book was. First off, the whole concept is like ACKKK! OMG! Second, our main character is half-Korean. High-five for diversity! Plus, family actually plays a part in a YA character’s life!! It’s seems like forever since I’ve read a book with so much family interaction and I loved it! The Song sisters make me wish I had a sister of my own.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before was exactly what I was expecting – a cute, fun read. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and felt emotionally invested in the characters. Jenny Han’s accurate portrayal of a teenager made Laura Jean a very relatable character who was courageous in her own cute way.  In the end, it left me craving for more contemporary reads and instantly searching for the second book’s release date only to find out I have to wait till summer TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS!!!

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

 

3 thoughts on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Book Review

  1. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    I liked this one a lot — have you read the second book yet? It was a bit of a step down IMO from the first book but there are still great LJ moments with her baking and fashion! And Kitty is awesome in the second book! Great review!

    • Vivalabooks says:

      I just got P.S. I Love You! Yeah, I’ve been hearing from a lot of people that it wasn’t as good as To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. 😦 But I’m still SO SO SO EXCITED to read it!

Leave a reply!

