If I Stay | Movie Review

hr_If_I_Stay_1

Time: 106 minutes | Warner Brothers Film | Rating: PG-13

Based on the novel If I Stay by Gayle Forman

IMDB SUMMARY

Mia Hall thought the hardest decision she would ever face would be whether to pursue her musical dreams at Juilliard or follow a different path to be with the love of her life, Adam. But what should have been a carefree family drive changes everything in an instant, and now her own life hangs in the balance. Caught between life and death for one revealing day, Mia has only one decision left, which will not only decide her future but her ultimate fate.

Movie Trailer

4

Rating: An emotional, romantic movie that will make fans of the book overload with the FEELS!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

teal

I always go into book-to-movie adaptations with high expectations and most of the time (not always) I’m somewhat disappointed. I know, I know, I should probably learn to lower my expectations, but I get caught up in the hype and before I know it my expectations are soaring past the roof. If I Stay was no exception and I am relieved to say they were definitely met!

If I Stay is a beautiful story and the movie portrayed it so well. Plus, the movie was unbelievably true to the book! It was a surreal experience to see so many scenes from the book come to life so wonderfully and accurately. I could NOT contain the FEELS! Fans of the book will definitely be beyond content with the movie.

Oh, and the acting was just on point! Chloë Grace Moretz was an outstanding Mia. I know she wasn’t actually playing the cello, but it sure looked like it. Her portrayal of Mia felt very real and I felt like she really became the character. Also, Jamie Blackley was a perfect Adam! He looks so much like the Adam I pictured in my mind and seeing him on screen singing was incredible. And, their chemistry was HOT. Mia + Adam feels were going CRAZY throughout the entire movie. Even those who haven’t read the book, (although I highly recommend reading it before) can fall in love with their sweet love story.

Family plays a huge part in If I Stay, and the movie managed to successfully portray Kat & Denny & Teddy. In the book, you, as a reader, want to be a part of Mia’s family, and in the movie the exact same feeling is portrayed. It felt like watching a real life family on screen and it made viewers realize how hard Mia’s choice was.

Music was a huge part of If I Stay in the book and the movie allowed us a chance to bring that music to life. I thought they did a wonderful job picking the soundtrack. The music ranged from classical (Mia) to rock (Adam). It was a perfect representation of If I Stay. (Check out the soundtrack!)

Although this movie is definitely one I would suggest bringing tissues to, it still manages to make one smile and laugh. It’s a movie that will have you smiling uncontrollably, giggling behind your hands, and wiping tears away as inconspicuously as possible. You will feel the weight of Mia’s decision and you will struggle, like Mia does, between which choice you would choose in her position. You will fall in love with each character and each of their stories. You will undeniably leave with your emotions bubbling over and fall in love with the movie. You will definitely be wishing for Where She Went to go into production ASAP. Most of all, you will appreciate the tragic & beautiful story that is If I Stay.

If you haven’t seen the movie yet please leave, so you aren’t spoiled!

THIS MOVIE WAS JUST AHHH. SO MANY FEELS!! Everything was wonderful and the movie was wonderful! There was really nothing much to complain about except for a few things. And, this is just me being picky.

First, I loved the chemistry between Mia & Adam, but I felt like it happened much more quickly in the movie than in the books.

Just as surprised as you, Mia! JK, not really, but still this was like their first interaction in the movie! Oh well, I still loved them together!

They’re just too adorable! And, when Adam gives Mia this guitar & cello bracelet, I honestly died a little inside. What was your favorite Mia + Adam moment?

Also, I would have liked the hospital scenes to have been a bit longer. I feel like in the books she was in coma for a longer period of time (right?) and this, once again, is me being picky. Honestly, I just wanted more of this movie!

Ohmygosh! These scenes were heart-wrenching. When Mia’s grandpa told her it was ok if she didn’t want to stay, the tears could not be contained. I was just sitting there and let the tears come flowing down. It was just so emotional! It felt like I was reading the book for the 1st time! And, when Kim brings up the moment she’ll forever remember Mia, it just brought on so many FEELS!

This is without a doubt one of my favorite scenes of the whole movie. Mia with her cello jamming out with the others on the guitar. The music was beautiful and the scene just filled the whole room with happiness. What was your favorite scene?

Was anyone else crying or at least tearing up at this point? I could feel the tears coming the minute the car crash happened. I might not have ugly cried as hard as when I read the book, but there were definitely tears that I could not stop. What part or parts made you cry?

I loved how they ended with Adam talking to her. When he put the headphones playing Beethoven on Mia, sang Mia her own song, and asked Mia stay, I just could NOT contain the FEELS. It was such a beautiful way to transition to the end of the movie. The abrupt ending, when she begins to open her eyes and sees Adam, has left me craving for a sequel movie! Where She Went needs to go into production ASAP! I WANT no I NEED more Mia + Adam in my life!

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of If I Stay the Movie?

Did you read the book before, after, or at all?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “If I Stay | Movie Review

  1. Giselle (@XpressoReads) says:

    oh my god I’m so excited to watch this but I can’t do it in theatres. I can,t watch cry movies in theaters haha. But I will be the digital first in line to rent it on iTunes >.< I love the casting they pick and I could tell the acting was amazing from the previews alone. I also like that they really brought in the family dynamics to the movie, too! Great review!! 🙂

    • Vivalabooks says:

      ohmygosh! How can you wait???? But, I totally understand the crying in public thing. Luckily I uglycried it out when I read the book, but still tears were definitely coming out. I’ll be waiting for the dvd to come out too, so I can just watch it over & over again! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear your thoughts after you watch it!

Leave a reply!

