Throne of Glass Friendship Day

maxresdefault copy

The first Sunday of August, August 4th, marks an exciting day – Friendship Day – where we celebrate the friendships we are blessed with. In celebration of Friendship Day, here is a post about the awesomeness behind some of the friendships in Throne of Glass.

Dorian + Chaol

Dorian, the Crown Prince of Adarlan, and Chaol, the Captain of the Guard, have been friends for a long time. They probably have the longest lasting friendship out of any of the characters in Throne of Glass which says a lot because having friends in Adarlan is no easy feat especially for a member of the royal family. They’re fiercely loyal to each other and highly respect each other’s opinions. Not only is their friendship one of respect, but they both know how to lighten up around each other. The glimpses we get to see at their brother-like banter shows how truly close they are. In a ruthless environment, like the Glass Castle, it’s close to a miracle that they’re able to be comfortable around each other. Dorian and Chaol’s friendship is one that has been carved out of time and loyalty.

My Friendship: I would compare Dorian & Chaol’s friendship with my longest best friend’s friendship. I’m actually pretty certain that I can’t imagine life without her. It’s been her & me since the beginning. We used to do almost everything together and we always manage to have fun no matter what. Although we’ve drifted a bit, since we’re attending different high schools, I know I can count on her for anything. If I had one call for a life line, it’d be her.

Celaena + Nehemia

Being an assassin or a princess can make having true friends a bit tough and it can lead to lots of distrust around others. It seemed near to impossible that both girls would find a friend in the Glass Castle, yet somehow they managed to accomplish the impossible. They’re very strong, indepedent women although they show it in different ways. As an assassin, Celaena, is feared for her strength of force & wit. Nehemia’s strength is more of an inner strength that many seem to overlook. As a princess, Nehemia will risk absolutely anything for her people even her own safety. These girls have been fighting their own battles alone for a long time, but now they draw strength and hope from each other. Nehemia makes Celaena want to be a better person and Celaena brings Nehemia hope for the future. Their friendship is the kind that others only could wish of having.

“I name you Elentiya.” She kissed the assassin’s brow. “I give you this name to use with honour, to use when other names grow too heavy. I name you Elentiya, ‘Spirit That Could Not Be Broken’.”

My Friendship: Although I wouldn’t go as far as comparing high school to Adarlan, both can be pretty brutal, unforgiving places. It’s hard to find true friends in high school and I’m thankful that I have a few friends who I truly trust. They’re the ones who deal with me when I’m a complete mess who stresses out about every single thing. They listen to me vent and they’re the ones who I have the most ridiculous conversations with. These are the girls whose friendship I’m seriously glad to have because life just wouldn’t be the same without them.

What is your favorite friendship in ToG?

Have a happy Friendship Day!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a reply!

