Prodigy by Marie Lu | Book Review

13414446

Pages: 371

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library

Age Group: Young Adult

*spoiler alert for those who haven’t read the Legend Trilogy beforehand*

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action.

Rating: Great Sequel

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

In Legend, we were introduced to the harsh world of the Republic where we followed the story of June, the Republic’s prodigy, and Day, the Republic’s most wanted criminal. Prodigy throws us right back into their exciting story without a moment of hesitation. The once loyal June has now turned her back on the Republic and is on the run with Day. They have very few options left, so they end up striking a deal with the Patriot rebels. Now, June is ordered to be captured by the Republic to gain the young, new Elector, Anden’s, trust, so she can lead him into a trap where Day will assassinate Anden.

June is by far my favorite character in the series. I loved her logical yet emotional personality with some kick-assness sprinkled in there. I just couldn’t help liking her! She’s a strong, tactical heroine with a will to do the right thing. And, throughout Prodigy, she struggles to understand where her loyalties lie. Anden, the new Elector, isn’t a replica of his dictator-like father and he actually seems passionate about changing the Republic. But then, there’s the big question – should she trust him?

Sadly, there was a bit of a toll on Day + June’s relationship in Prodigy. There’s a lot less interaction between the both of them which really bummed me out because I love them together! But, don’t worry your little mind because there are still plenty of trademark June + Day scenes.  And, although, they weren’t necessarily with each other, they were always on each other’s minds.

At times, Day aggravated me because I felt like he let the fame get to his head and blamed June for things that were out of her hands. I guess the aggravation was due to the fact that I somehow always end up siding with June. I mean I can understand Day’s anger at the Republic and June was the Republic’s prodigy, so it’s totally reasonable. But, that doesn’t mean I have to like it. Day’s still a great character and he spends a lot of Prodigy trying to deal with the loss of his family while desperately searching for his missing little brother, Eden. He’s always working hard and at the end of everything, he’s got June’s back.

I have just one quick thing I have to include in this review: Thank you so much Marie Lu for writing in alternating POVs! It just totally makes my life!

There was a lot was going on in Prodigy. Most of it you don’t notice till the end (or at least I didn’t). Actually, a good portion of the beginning & middle of the book was jam-packed with information. We learn more about the world Marie Lu created which is always great. (Go world building!) Plus, it was really interesting to learn about the Republic’s history. Oh, and we get a glimpse at the Colonies! Not to spoil anything, but it was so not what I was expecting.

The pacing throughout most of Prodigy seemed slow, but I actually blew through the book. By the end, my heart was racing and I was giddy with suspense, excitement, and surprise. There was definitely a lot of mind blowing going on in Prodigy. Oh, the ending! It’s killing me just thinking about it! I need the next book NOW! GIMME BOOK 3 ALREADY!

Favorite Quotes

“All it takes is one generation to brainwash a population and convince them that reality doesn’t exist.”

“I turn even more flustered when I remember that I have actually pistol-whipped him in the face before. Romantic.”

“Sweetheart, would I ever lie to you?” “Don’t try. I’d see right through it.” – Day + June 🙂

“You were born to shake the Republic.”

BOOK TRAILER:

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Prodigy?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a reply!

