Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson | Book Review

13034113

Pages: 352

Publisher: HarperTeen

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Nothing ever happens in Norway. But at least Ellie knows what to expect when she visits her grandmother: a tranquil fishing village and long, slow summer days. And maybe she’ll finally get out from under the shadow of her way-too-perfect big brother, Graham, while she’s there.

What Ellie doesn’t anticipate is Graham’s infuriating best friend, Tuck, tagging along for the trip. Nor did she imagine boys going missing amid rumors of impossible kidnappings. Least of all does she expect something powerful and ancient to awaken in her and that strange whispers would urge Ellie to claim her place among mythological warriors. Instead of peace and quiet, there’s suddenly a lot for a girl from L.A. to handle on a summer sojourn in Norway! And when Graham vanishes, it’s up to Ellie—and the ever-sarcastic, if undeniably alluring Tuck—to uncover the truth about all the disappearances and thwart the nefarious plan behind them.

Deadly legends, hidden identities, and tentative romance swirl together in one girl’s unexpectedly-epic coming of age.

Rating: Pretty Good Read

book 2 book 2 book 2

When I heard that Valkyrie Rising was about Norse mythology I just knew that I had to get my hands on it! I’m completely fascinated by any kind of mythology and I was excited to learn more about Norse mythology. And since I’m such a sucker for mythology, I just couldn’t help enjoying this fun spin on Valkyries!

I found Ellie to be just an OK character. Nothing more. Nothing less. I know a lot of people enjoyed reading about Ellie, but I never felt a connection. I never found myself thinking too much about her. She was just the girl trying to overcome her brother’s shadow, grow into her Valkyrie powers, solve the mysterious kidnappings, and deal with a potential boyfriend. I know, I know, Ellie sounds like a great character… I guess I just wasn’t feeling it. I was actually more intrigued by her situation with the boys being kidnapped by Valkyries and her own Valkyrie heritage.

Although, I did adore Tucker! He always had a sarcastic attitude with a charming smile to match. And, he never failed to leave behind moments that made you blush, scenes that made you wish he was yours, and comments that made you laugh out loud. Whenever Tucker showed up, I knew that Valkyrie Rising would become much more entertaining! Plus, he is such a sweetheart! I seriously don’t understand how Ellie missed all the “subtle” hints Tucker gave her, but their romance was still great to read about. It was filled with lots of bickering, mixed signals, and plenty of cute scenes. You will definitely want to read about these two!

Oh! I just have to mention one character which I was totally not expecting to even think about, much less like. Loki! Ohmygoodness! I loved his character. I usually never like the “bad guys,” but I just couldn’t help loving Loki. He’s a god with the power to morph into anyone which was pretty cool. Plus, he’s evil, sly, clever, snarky, & funny. I mean what’s not to like?

The plot was interesting enough. I mean it kept me entertained, but I wasn’t sucked into the world of Valkyrie Rising. It was a little slow in the middle when Ellie was trying to make a plan to save her older brother, Graham, without much success. Maybe I just found it slow because there wasn’t much action. Towards the end of the book, the action intensified into a huge battle which caused me to cheer on Ellie like I was some crazy sports fan watching an intense game. There’s a couple of interesting plot twists that were a bit predictable, but there was one that left me with my jaw hanging all the way to the ground. No joke! I literally freaked out to my friend reading next to me (but she just kind of looked confused – story of my life).

Overall, I would recommend Valkyrie Rising to my friends who enjoy mythology and anything supernatural or paranormal. It’s a nice read with a cute romance & an interesting plotline involving Valkyries.

Favorite Quotes

“It can be hard to find people you can trust, and when you do, you hold on to them, imperfections and all.”

“Let’s let small-minded people live within the confines of their small-minded assumptions while the rest of us carry on with our lives.”

“I can spot manipulation a thousand miles away. I invented the concept.”

“Can I help it if I’m the only one keeping my eyes on the big picture?” Loki flashed a condescending smile. “The best poker players are patient. They wait until it’s a hand they know they can win.”

“I was made of pure fire.”

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Valkyrie Rising?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson | Book Review

  1. Giselle says:

    This sounds pretty good I remember skipping over it a while back but it sounds so unique I’m still curious about it. Tucker definitely sounds like a character I will like. Anyone with sarcasm and wit always connects with me. It’s like they get me! >.< Glad you enjoyed it, it sounds like a cute read!

Leave a reply!

