Crimson Frost by Jennifer Estep | Book Review

13130275

Pages: 320

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation

Format: Ebook

Source: Netgalley

Age Group: Young Adult

*spoiler alert for those who haven’t read Mythos Academy series beforehand*

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

For a moment, a face flashed before my eyes–the most hideous face I’d ever seen. No matter how hard I tried to forget what had happened, I saw him everywhere I went. It was Loki–the evil god that I’d helped set free against my will.I should have known that my first official date with Logan Quinn was destined to end in disaster. If we’d gotten into a swordfight, or been ambushed by Reapers, I’d have been more prepared. But getting arrested mid-sip at the local coffee hangout? I didn’t see that one coming. I’ve been accused of purposely helping the Reapers free Loki from his prison–and the person leading the charge against me is Linus Quinn, Logan’s dad. The worst part is that pretty much everyone at Mythos Academy thinks I’m guilty. If I’m going to get out of this mess alive, I’ll have to do it myself. . .

Rating: Another Great Addition To The Series!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

First off, I just have to begin this review by gushing about that ahhh-mazing cover! I did a cover reveal for Crimson Frost in 2012 and it’s just as stunning as it was when I first saw it. HER EYES!! I want them, but of course in blue because that’s just how I am :D . OK, moving back on topic (sorry for my randomness) and onto the actual book, I need to say I’m officially in love with the Mythos Academy series and I cannot believe I haven’t reviewed one of the books yet!

Can a girl get a break? No, like seriously, Gwen just had a major scary show-down with the creepy god Loki and all she wants is one date with the super hottie Logan! Then, the Protectorate, the police force of the mythological world, arrest her – ON HER FIRST DATE WITH LOGAN! Bummer, I know, but that’s not the worst part because things get a lot more awkward when Gwen learns that Logan’s dad is part of the Protectorate who by the way think she’s guilty of working with Loki and is actually a Reaper. Puh-lease!!! If any of you guys read the latest book, you’ll know that that is the farthest thing from the truth and just plain rubbish!

Throughout Crimson Frost, Gwen is given a rough time for being accused of being a Reaper and has to deal with all the drama that comes with the accusation. We are introduced with a new character, Alexei, the silent, mysterious son of one of the members of the Protectorate ordered to be her personal body guard. Personally, I didn’t think much of him in Crimson Frost, but I’m hoping to see him play a bigger role in future Mythos Academy books.

I’ve been missing these characters a ton and it was nice to get them back! Gwen is the same fierce girl who is just as determined as ever to live up to Nike’s expectations and find a way to beat Loki. *Jumps and sequels in excitement* Logan and Gwen make it official! Yes, finally, I’m sure there’s someone out there throwing a celebration party because these two were just needing to become a couple. Instead of seeing the usual fighting-savvy, arrogant, cocky, bad boy Logan, we get to see a softer, more vulnerable side. I already loved Logan and seeing that side of him just made me swoon for him all over again. Daphne is still the ultimate sassy, bossy, pink-loving, Valkyrie best friend that we’re used to who still has it bad for Carson, the geeky band boy. It was just great to get a chance to read about these amazing characters all over again.

In the beginning of Crimson Frost, there isn’t a bunch of action, but a couple secrets unfolded here & there, then BAM! It was like an action movie till the end. Plus, there were a couple insane, jaw-dropping, gasp-worthy twists that will have you flipping out in shock and begging for more.

If you haven’t read the series yet, well I have nothing more to say then GO READ IT NOW! And, if you’re just as obsessed as me comment below, tweet me, or send me an email and we can fan girl (or guy) together!

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Crimson Frost?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Crimson Frost by Jennifer Estep | Book Review

  1. Giselle says:

    I only skimmed the review for fear of spoilers because I haven’t read this series yet but it’s been on my TBR list for everz! I seriously love these covers, too!

Leave a reply!

