The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse | Book Review

Pages: 375

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

As an obedient orphan of the U.N.A. (the super-country that was once Mexico, the U.S., and Canada), Alenna learned at an early age to blend in and be quiet—having your parents taken by the police will do that to a girl. But Alenna can’t help but stand out when she fails a test that all sixteen-year-olds have to take: The test says she has a high capacity for brutal violence, and so she is sent to The Wheel, an island where all would-be criminals end up.

The life expectancy of prisoners on The Wheel is just two years, but with dirty, violent, and chaotic conditions, the time seems a lot longer as Alenna is forced to deal with civil wars for land ownership and machines that snatch kids out of their makeshift homes. Desperate, she and the other prisoners concoct a potentially fatal plan to flee the island. Survival may seem impossible, but Alenna is determined to achieve it anyway.

Rating: An OK Dystopian.

book 2 book 2 book 2

I absolutely LOVE – like I’m pretty sure have an addiction kind of love – dystopian books! So, I was obviously craving to get my hands on The Forsaken, except after I was done reading it, I wasn’t rushing to go tell the world about its amazingness. Actually to tell the truth it kind of fell flat for me.

The main let down in The Forsaken for me was the romance. Oh and before I start on the romance I should say that I wasn’t a big fan of Alenna. I don’t really know the exact reason because she was smart, enduring, & had a good heart. All I know is that throughout The Forsaken I felt a bit detached from her. OK, moving onto the romance, there was MAJOR insta-love in this book! I mean don’t get me wrong insta-love can work in some books, but it just didn’t make it for The Forsaken. Throughout the whole book, I could not get out of my head how fast Alenna fell for Liam and how he fell for her just as quickly. Yes, he’s a hot, charming, & sweet guy, but she barely got to even know him! It was like she laid eyes on him and became obsessed, and it was the same thing with Liam. Plus, Liam was barely in the book, but Alenna could not stop obsessing over him for like one second! I just could not for the life of me wrap my head around their romance and it makes my head hurt just thinking about it.

The saving factor for The Forsaken was that insane island! It’s like a wheel that has 6 different sections (like pie ;)). It was interesting to see how they managed to survive on the island and how they divided into different groups. For example, the Monk, the oldest person on the island (and the guy who really creeps me out), and the drones, his crazed followers, live on the island. (Yeah, I won’t be visiting anytime soon!) Plus, there are a couple unexpected twists and the ending is pretty out-of-this-world.

Overall, it was a fast-paced read that included a great dystopian world. What didn’t work for me was the insta-love. I’m still interested in the sequel, but you won’t see me rushing out to buy it.

BOOK TRAILER:

 Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of The Forsaken?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse | Book Review

  1. Jen (A Reading Daydreamer) says:

    I’ve been really hesitant to read this one, but I’m so glad I cam across your review, Amanda! The dystopian world sounds really quite different and interesting, but I don’t think I’ll be able to tolerate the plain-as-day insta-love! Thanks for letting me know about it. I don’t think I’ll be picking this book up, because I don’t want to hate on the main character the entire time. Lovely review, and thanks for being honest! 🙂

Leave a reply!

