Darkness Before Dawn by J.A. London | Book Review

Pages: 342

Publisher: HarperTeen

Format: Paperback

Source: Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Only sunlight can save us.

We built the wall to keep them out, to keep us safe. But it also makes us prisoners, trapped in what’s left of our ravaged city, fearing nightfall.

After the death of my parents, it’s up to me–as the newest delegate for humanity–to bargain with our vampire overlord. I thought I was ready. I thought I knew everything there was to know about the monsters. Then again, nothing could have prepared me for Lord Valentine . . . or his son. Maybe not all vampires are killers. Maybe it’s safe to let one in.

Only one thing is certain: Even the wall is not enough. A war is coming and we cannot hide forever.

Rating: A Great, Different Vampire Book!

book 2 book 2 book 2

When I read the synopsis of Darkness Before Dawn I was immediately hooked. I’ve read a lot of vampire books and from the beginning I knew this one was going to be different.

J.A. London creates a futuristic, vampire-ridden Denver. There’s an Agency that is responsible for protecting the city from vampires. Plus, there’s a delegate that represents the humans and negotiates terms with the vampire lords. The Night Watchmen are humans who patrol the cities killing any vampires. And, the Old Family consists of the only pure vampires left in the world. What makes Darkness Before Dawn so different from other vampire books is that there is a delegate trying to discuss conditions with the vampire lords which I found to be very interesting!

Our main character, Dawn, (irony, anyone??) is the current delegate of Denver who came in control of this positions after her parents died on the way back from a delegate meeting with Lord Valentine, one of the oldest vampires. Plus, her brother was killed by vampires earlier in her life. Yeah, she should harbor some major hate for vampires, but she still agrees to be the delegate. Oh, and boy is she stubborn! But, I think that’s one of the reasons I liked her so much. She really sticks to her beliefs and stands up for what she believes to be right. She has a very guarded exterior, but once you break through that you find a caring, sweet, vulnerable girl underneath.

OK, so just a warning before, there are two guys, Michael and Victor. But, the good thing is that Darkness Before Dawn does not actually contain a love triangle. There’s Michael her sweet best friend turned boyfriend who can be extremely cocky. Then, there’s Victor good-looking, strong, noble, and incredibly mysterious! You can choose which one you like, but I’m rooting for Victor!

Overall, a good, entertaining read. It’s got a couple unexpected twists that left me freaking out wondering how I had not seen it coming! Also, there was a MAJOR cliffhanger! I just NEED the next book so I can find out what happens!

You guys should definitely read Darkness Before Dawn if you’re sick of the normal vampire books, but are still in love with vampire stories. It’s a refreshing twist on the classic vampire YA books. 

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Darkness Before Dawn?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Darkness Before Dawn by J.A. London | Book Review

  1. Alicia♥ says:

    OHHHH!! Will it be too shallow of me to say that I love this book just by the cover? This does sound like a unique twist to vampire books, I’ve been keeping my eye on it for a long time! Going to have to read it next year /grumbles/ Great review, anyway and yup! Most probably Victor for me too 😉

Leave a reply!

