Suzanne Selfors INTERVIEW

Hi everyone! I’m so excited to have Suzanne Selfors, author of Saving Juliet, here on the blog for an interview! Enjoy!

1.      How were you inspired to write a classic retelling?

I’ve always loved Shakespeare and I was in Romeo and Juliet when I was 13. I played Mercutio. What really struck me about being in the play was that I was the exact same age as the lead characters, and I hated the way the story ended. It seemed so stupid and unnecessary, especially since their suicides were because of miscommunication. I’ve wanted to change the ending since then.

2.      How similar are Romeo and Juliet and Saving Juliet?

In Saving Juliet we have a modern girl who goes into the actual story and meets the characters. So while I stick closely to Shakespeare’s version at first, the mere fact that someone has invaded the story, automatically changes everything–especially since that someone has a modern perspective on how girls should behave.

3.      How did you come up with the title: Saving Juliet?

It was easy. And most of my titles are a struggle. The central idea is a modern girl meets Juliet and tries to save her life so voila! Saving Juliet.

4.      How would you sum up Saving Juliet in three words?

Funny, romantic, entertaining.

5.      What is your favorite classic? Why?

Hmmmm. To Kill a Mockingbird. How can you ever get tired of that courtroom scene?

6.      What is your favorite classic romance? Why?

I love Gone With the Wind. Rhett is such a jerk, and yet how can you not love him?

7.      If you could live in any classic book which one would it be? Why?

Yeesh, that’s hard. I think it would be fun to go to Neverland, so I’m gonna vote for Peter Pan.

8.      Do you have a favorite classic book turned into a movie?

Wizard of Oz must be watched every year.

9.  You just received the chance to travel through time. Past or future? What time period? Why?

The future scares me. I don’t want to know what happens to my loved ones, etc. So I’d go back in time and watch Shakespeare’s work live on stage in London. Would love to meet him and get the final answer to the question- Hey, did you write these plays or not?

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Author Bio

Suzanne began writing at age 39, a few minutes after her youngest child stepped onto the schoolbus to begin first grade. Her first book, TO CATCH A MERMAID, was sold at auction in 2005 and she’s been writing two books a year ever since.

I hope you enjoyed this interview with Suzanne Selfors!

Keep on reading and good luck!

Leave a reply!

