Of Poseidon by Anna Banks | Book Review

Pages: 336

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Format: ebook

Source: Kindle

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Galen is the prince of the Syrena, sent to land to find a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish. Emma is on vacation at the beach. When she runs into Galen — literally, ouch! — both teens sense a connection. But it will take several encounters, including a deadly one with a shark, for Galen to be convinced of Emma’s gifts. Now, if he can only convince Emma that she holds the key to his kingdom . . .

Told from both Emma and Galen’s points of view, here is a fish-out-of-water story that sparkles with intrigue, humor, and waves of romance.

Rating: Whoop! Whoop! Read It!! So Good!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

I read the title of this book and automatically thought of Percy Jackson & Greek Mythology. Since the title was Of Poseidon, I thought I was going to get a book about Greek Poseidon Mythology. Instead, the focus wasn’t on demigods, but the Syrena. They’re like mermaids, except you would never want to call them one to their face. They find it fairly insulting, at least according to Galen!

So, we get altering POVs! YAY!! *does a celebratory dance* You cannot imagine how much I adore multiple POVs! It just always makes a book better!

Emma is our heroine who is unbelievably stubborn that it’s comical. She’s strong-willed, feisty, & defiant! I loved all her witty, sassy comments! She always had me laughing & I really enjoyed reading from her POV.

Galen! *gazes dreamily* Your first impression of him is that he’s just some stuck up, spoiled prince ,but later on in the book he reveals how truly sweet he is. Plus, he is described as majorly HOT!

Emma + Galen = momentous clash of personalities that will keep you extremely entertained! They both liked things to go their way & with their different opinions, it led to an interesting, entertaining read. But, don’t worry they do have some incredibly sweet scenes that will definitely make you want to swoon!

Toraf, Galen’s best friend & Rayna’s possible mate, was hands down hilarious! Gosh, I loved him! He just made the most random, funniest comments ever! And, Rayna, Galen’s sister, was not my favorite character ever at first. But, towards the end I warmed up to her… Well, at least I tried to!

Like I mentioned above, I was expecting Greek Mythology. Instead I got this new fresh storyline with the Syrena. I loved learning about the different Syrena houses, Triton & Poseidon. It was all very interesting & unique. I soon found myself transfixed by the Syrena mythology Anna Banks created!

OMG!! THE ENDING IS TO DIE FOR!! Literally, it pains me to have to wait for this sequel! You will never see it coming! Well, at least I didn’t, so after I finished I was freaking out like a maniac! Unbelievable!

Overall, Of Poseidon was a great romantic read with an interesting “mermaid” mythology part to go with it. You’ll be laughing at the stubbornness that is Emma & Galen! And, you’ll definitely be begging to read the next book, it’s kind of addicting. 😀

BOOK TRAILER:

 

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Of Poseidon?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Of Poseidon by Anna Banks | Book Review

  1. Alicia♥ says:

    “Emma + Galen = momentous clash of personalities that will keep you extremely entertained!” YOU’VE SAID EXACTLY HOW I FELT!!! ❤ Galen and Emma are such a cute and humourous couple I found myself squealing in many chapters 😀 Lovely review!

Leave a reply!

