Waiting On Wednesday (7)

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Title: Venom

Author:  Fiona Paul  

Publisher:  Philomel

Release Date: October 30th 2012

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Cassandra Caravello is one of Renaissance Venice’s lucky elite: with elegant gowns, sparkling jewels, her own lady’s maid, and a wealthy fiancé, she has everything a girl could desire. Yet ever since her parents’ death, Cassandra has felt trapped, alone in a city of water, where the dark and labyrinthine canals whisper of escape.

When Cass stumbles upon a murdered woman—practically in her own backyard—she’s drawn into a dangerous world of courtesans, killers, and secret societies. Soon, she finds herself falling for Falco, a mysterious artist with a mischievous grin… and a spectacular skill for trouble. Can Cassandra find the murderer, before he finds her? And will she stay true to her fiancé, or succumb to her uncontrollable feelings for Falco?

Beauty, love, romance, and mystery weave together in a stunning novel that’s as seductive and surprising as the city of Venice itself.

My thoughts:

OK, I’m usually not a big fan of historical fiction, but my friend, Grace (from WordsLikeSilver), really recommended this book. So, I decided to take a look at it. And, I was surprised to find myself intrigued by this book. *gasp* MURDER?!?!! Oh, I’m a sucker for books with murder mysteries! Plus, that cover! I feel like that girl is mocking me as she eyes me.

Title: Beautiful Redemption

Author: Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Release Date: October 23rd 2012

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Is death the end . . . or only the beginning?

Ethan Wate has spent most of his life longing to escape the stiflingly small Southern town of Gatlin. He never thought he would meet the girl of his dreams, Lena Duchannes, who unveiled a secretive, powerful, and cursed side of Gatlin, hidden in plain sight. And he never could have expected that he would be forced to leave behind everyone and everything he cares about. So when Ethan awakes after the chilling events of the Eighteenth Moon, he has only one goal: to find a way to return to Lena and the ones he loves.

Back in Gatlin, Lena is making her own bargains for Ethan’s return, vowing to do whatever it takes — even if that means trusting old enemies or risking the lives of the family and friends Ethan left to protect.

Worlds apart, Ethan and Lena must once again work together to rewrite their fate, in this stunning finale to the Beautiful Creatures series.

My thoughts:

OMG!! THE FINAL BOOK!! YES!!! It’s the last book in the Caster Chronicles!! I NEED TO KNOW HOW IT ENDS!!

Title: This Is Not a Drill

Author: Beck McDowell

Publisher:  Nancy Paulsen Books

Release Date: October 25th 2012

GOODREADS SUMMARY

When high school seniors—and former couple—Emery and Jake find themselves held hostage in a first grade classroom, they must do all they can to protect the kids. Brian Stutts, a U.S. soldier suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder after serving in Iraq, pulls out his gun to convince the teacher to hand over the son he’s not allowed to check out because of a custody battle. The situation turns deadly when a security guard appears at the door and Stutts impulsively opens fire. When the teacher is carried from the room, the children’s fate is in the hands of Emery and Jake. While Jake searches for a way to communicate with the policemen surrounding the building, Emery, fighting her shyness, fear, and POTS symptoms, tries to reach out to the soldier. She gains a new understanding of what he faced in Iraq, and discovers remarkable strength in his small son.

My thoughts:

Cover… Ehh, not my favorite, but did you just read that book summary??? That was just extremely intense. I cannot even begin to imagine what I would do if I was caught in a school shooting trying to protect a classroom of first graders. It’s just unbelievable! Yet, you feel bad for the poor man because he served in Iraq & can’t see his son. I think this book will take an emotional toll on me, but I’m expecting a great read!

What books are you waiting on?

27 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday (7)

  1. Anna says:

    These all look great. I still haven’t read Beautiful Chaos though… >_< I'm wondering if I'll ever get to it LOL! Venom looks gorgeous though!!

    Anna @ Literary Exploration
    My WoW

  2. Addie R. says:

    YES! I am dying to read Beautiful Redemption! I need to know what happens next! D: And I’m really excited for Venom. I’ve been getting more and more interested in historical fiction and I love mysteries!
    Thanks for stopping by ^__^

  3. Chapter by Chapter says:

    very awesome picks this week! I’m so excited that we got an ARC of Venom as part of the blog tour. Can’t wait to start it! Very excited for Beautiful Redemption. Excited and sad at the same time as it’s the end. Fantastics pick! Thanks for sharing, and for stopping by 🙂

    MaryANn @ Chapter by Chapter
    Our WoW for this week

  4. Krystianna says:

    I can’t wait to read Venom! It sounds amazing. I really need to get started on the Beautiful Creatures saga. I want to read the first one before the movie comes out. I love book to movie adaptations! They aren’t always as good as the book, but I love to watch everything come to life.

    Thanks for stopping by my Waiting on Wednesday!

    • Vivalabooks says:

      A good recommendation from my friend, so I’m totally trying it ou! And, you should!!! I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE MOVIES! 😀 Same here! It’s just so fun to see how the movie compares to the book.

Leave a reply!

