My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick | Book Review

Pages: 400

Publisher: Dial Books For Young Readers

Format: ebook

Source: Kindle

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

A gorgeous debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy, affectionate. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen-year-old Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs her terrace and changes everything. As the two fall fiercely in love, Jase’s family makes Samantha one of their own. Then in an instant, the bottom drops out of her world and she is suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A dreamy summer read, full of characters who stay with you long after the story is over.

Rating: A Fantastic Contemporary/Chick Lit

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a huge fan of Contemporary or Chick Lit, but this book is definitely one of the reasons I give the genres a chance! It was getting a lot of hype from lots of blogs I follow, so I decided to give it a try. And, it totally lived up to its expectations! It was such a great Contemporary/Chick Lit read! I’d definitely recommend it to all my friends! 😀

My Life Next Door focuses on Samantha, the senator’s daughter, who strives to be the “perfect” daughter. Her mother tells her all the time that she shouldn’t be like her crazy next door neighbors, the Garretts, but Samantha is fascinated by them. And, I actually felt bad for Samantha. She worked extremely hard for “perfection” except no one realized how taxing it could be. Also, Samantha was such a sweet, considerate girl. I wasn’t her biggest fan at the beginning, but towards the end she warmed up to me. Samantha had been through so much & she was such a nice girl at heart.

Ohhh, the Garretts!! What a wild, lively, fun, exciting family! I’ve always wondered what it would be like to have such a huge family. My favorite Garrett besides Jase was little George! His quirky comments were just hilarious and he was such an adorable kid.

Jase was the sweetest boyfriend ever!! He was so thoughtful, hardworking, caring, & loving. You could just see how much he cared for his family & Samantha which was such an amazing quality of his. Plus, his romance with Samantha was so cute! I absolutely loved it!!

And, the ending is INSANE!! I was so not expecting it and it majorly changed the story. It was definitely the most intense part of the book!

Overall, My Life Next Door was a fantastic YA Contemporary/Chick lit! It had a cute romance with a major twist at the end. If you love contemporaries & chick lit then you should for sure read My Life Next Door.

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of My Life Next Door?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick | Book Review

  1. Alicia♥ says:

    I’ve been seeing rave reviews all over the blogosphere and I’m really curious to GAH I want to read this right now!! Samantha and Jase sound like perfect opposites but you know how they say “opposites attract” 😉 Great review!

Leave a reply!

