For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund | Book Review

Pages: 402

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Format: Hardcover

Source: Public Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

It’s been several generations since a genetic experiment gone wrong caused the Reduction, decimating humanity and giving rise to a Luddite nobility who outlawed most technology.

Elliot North has always known her place in this world. Four years ago Elliot refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart, the servant Kai, choosing duty to her family’s estate over love. Since then the world has changed: a new class of Post-Reductionists is jumpstarting the wheel of progress, and Elliot’s estate is foundering, forcing her to rent land to the mysterious Cloud Fleet, a group of shipbuilders that includes renowned explorer Captain Malakai Wentforth–an almost unrecognizable Kai. And while Elliot wonders if this could be their second chance, Kai seems determined to show Elliot exactly what she gave up when she let him go.

But Elliot soon discovers her old friend carries a secret–one that could change their society . . . or bring it to its knees. And again, she’s faced with a choice: cling to what she’s been raised to believe, or cast her lot with the only boy she’s ever loved, even if she’s lost him forever.

Inspired by Jane Austen’s “Persuasion”, “For Darkness Shows the Stars” is a breathtaking romance about opening your mind to the future and your heart to the one person you know can break it.

Rating: Great, Surprising Read!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

Guys!! LOOK AT THIS COVER! Seriously, just look at it! Bask in the gorgeousness that is For Darkness Shows the Stars! *takes a moment to stare in awe* Doesn’t that starry background just draw you in? OK, so the main reason I decided to read For Darkness Shows the Stars was because of this cover. I wasn’t expecting an amazing read, but I was blown away at how  it lived up to its astounding cover!

For Darkness Shows the Stars is also a dystopian which is a major plus for me! In this futuristic world, technology went too far with genetic experiments and ended up with a devastating result: creating humans known as the Reduction. The outcome was that the Luddite nobility rose up and outlawed most technology to prevent events like the Reduction from occurring again. Now fewer humans are born as the Reduction, but as the Post-Reduction, free of disease.

Our main character Elliot is an unbelievably hardworking, self-sacrificing woman. She blew me away with her dedication and my heart reached out to her! It was actually unbelievable how much Elliot sacrificed to accomplish her duty as a Luddite! She tried to make life for the Reduction and the other workers at their farm bearable even with her clueless, awful father as the head no matter how much she suffered. Elliot is certainly not the kind of heroine I usually like, but she had a strength that many only dream of having.

Ahh!! Kai was such a jerk to Elliot for the majority of the book!! It made me so mad!!! But, you can’t completely blame the guy because he felt like Elliot betrayed him when she didn’t run away with him. But, towards the end when he realizes Elliot’s reasons for staying he becomes a much kinder person.

One of my favorite parts of the book was when we got to see the letters that Elliot and Kai had written in the past. It was so cute to see their relationship build up! Also, it was a unique way to understand the society Diana Peterfreund created. The difference between the Luddite and Reduction & Post-Reduction was very evident in these letters. You could see how different each class thought and I loved learning this way!

I have yet to read Persuasion by Jane Austen, so I don’t have much say in their similarity. But, this was such a beautiful love story (and I usually don’t like love stories at all). Even though I wasn’t Kai’s biggest fan in the beginning, I was still rooting for him & Elliot. The whole time throughout the book I was just wishing that Kai would understand the sacrifices that Elliot had endured. I wanted Elliot to be truly happy!

There’s a twist in the book, but it didn’t completely take me by surprise. There were a few hints here & there, but I still gasped when I found out the truth! And, I don’t want to give too much away about the ending… So, READ IT!

For Darkness Shows The Stars is definitely one of the better written books I’ve read. Diana Peterfreund style of writing was very beautiful and the world she created was such a unique idea. She wove together a heart wrenching love story that will have you hoping for only one thing: Elliot’s happiness.

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of For Darkness Shows the Stars?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

9 thoughts on “For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund | Book Review

  1. Giselle says:

    I love dystopians too and this one has gotten amazing reviews I really have to get myself a copy soon. It sounds great and i Love the addition of the letters in the storytellng. Great review!

  2. Krystianna says:

    I’m glad to hear that you liked this one! I can’t wait to read it. The cover is absolutely amazing and it sounds so good! I’ve heard a few rave reviews for this. Thanks so much for your review!

  3. Alicia♥ says:

    Many people are telling me: “Alicia, YOU MUST READ THIS” and I’m really excited for it, not only because it’s an adaptation of Jane Austen’s Persuasion (which I haven’t read either… Ahem), but also the dystopian world, the love story, and that cover!!! /stares in awe together/ I’m now scouting for it around bookstores, awesome review 🙂

Leave a reply!

