The Fault In Our Stars by John Green | Book Review

Pages: 336

Publisher: Dutton Books

Format: Hardcover

Source: Barnes & Nobles

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

Rating: Favorite!! READ IT NOW!!!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

One of my best friends was begging me to read Paper Towns by John Green some time ago, but at the moment I was like “ehhh”. I hadn’t heard of the book or the author, so I wasn’t interested. (This was before I knew book blogs even existed.) But soon afterwards I started seeing John Green’s name all over the place. Then, he comes out with this new book, The Fault In Ours Stars. Automatically, I wanted to read it… But, I was kind of low on cash, so I couldn’t exactly buy it. Then, miraculously, it’s one of the books on my school summer reading list! So, my lovely mom bought me a nice hardcover copy of The Fault In Our Stars! Then, I had to find the perfect moment to read this book, so I wouldn’t be bawling like a baby in public. After all that, I absolutey devoured The Fault In Our Stars. I actually locked myself in my room and just let the tears come out at this beautiful story.

Hazel was a sarcastic, thoughtful character that I enjoyed reading about. I thought John Green did an excellent job at capturing the voice of a teenage girl with cancer. Although, she was a lot more mature than any teenagers I know of. At moments Hazel could be a bit morbid, like when she first met Augustus and she explained the inevitability of human oblivion to him. But, that didn’t bother me… It was a quirk of Hazel’s! I really enjoyed Hazel even with all her quirks.

Wow! I don’t even think they’re enough words to describe Augustus. He’s kind of surreal because I most likely never meet someone like him. Augustus was extremely arrogant, but it worked on him. He knew he looked good & he took that in stride! Also, the way he used random metaphors always managed to make me laugh! Oh, did I mention how utterly crazyily hilarious he is!

The romance between Hazel & Augustus was amazingly written. As this couple fell for each other, I fell in love with their story. It was just so imperfectly perfect! Haha, make sense much? But, no joke, this is probably one of my favorite couples I’ve ever read about!

Issac was a surprising supporting character who I grew to like. He wasn’t my favorite character ever, but it was still fun to read about him!

All of John Green’s characters are very memorable and I will forever carry them around with me!

I knew going into The Fault In Our Stars that someone was going to die because that’s what happens in all cancer books… But, I was still surprised when it came! I was actually bawling my eyes out! I couldn’t believe it! I mean I knew it was coming, yet it still managed to sneak up on me. And, that’s something I really liked about The Fault In Our Stars. It wasn’t one of those extremely depressing books about cancer, but something more.

Every time I read the ending I end up in tears with a smile on my face. It was just the best ending for the book. And, it really is beautiful!

The Fault In Our Stars is a definite MUST-READ!! It will have you laughing, smiling, yelling, & crying. Without a doubt, The Fault In Our Stars is the best book I’ve read so far this year!

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of The Fault In Our Stars?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a reply!

