Revived by Cat Patrick | Book Review

Pages: 336

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Format: Hardcover

Source: Public Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

As a little girl, Daisy Appleby was killed in a school bus crash. Moments after the accident, she was brought back to life.

A secret government agency has developed a drug called Revive that can bring people back from the dead, and Daisy Appleby, a test subject, has been Revived five times in fifteen years. Daisy takes extraordinary risks, knowing that she can beat death, but each new death also means a new name, a new city, and a new life. When she meets Matt McKean, Daisy begins to question the moral implications of Revive, and as she discovers the agency’s true goals, she realizes she’s at the center of something much larger—and more sinister—than she ever imagined.

Rating: Pretty good read

book 2 book 2 book 2

When I picked up Revived, I was expecting the book to focus on the drug, Revive, which can bring people back to life. Instead, Revived focused mostly on Daisy starting her life over once again, trying to fit in her new school, & actually succeeding in making some good friends. I’m not saying this was a bad thing, but I felt like it was pretty unexpected. Even though I pictured the book differently, I enjoyed the story Cat Patrick wrote.

Daisy was a likeable character who I felt bad for since she never actually had any friends or a real family, but I never felt a strong connection to her. She’s accidently killed herself several times which always resulted in another move to a new town where she couldn’t make any real friends. But, finally, she moves and actually makes a couple friends!

Audrey & Matt were such great characters! I especially enjoyed reading about Audrey with her bubbly, fun personality. But, you’re going to be in store for something because Cat Patrick throws in an unbelievable twist that I would have never guessed. Plus, Matt was just too sweet! I really enjoyed reading about Matt & Daisy because you could see how much they truly loved each other, even if there were a few bumps along the road.

Oh, and Cat Patrick is going to completely blow you away with the ending. I was freaking out towards the end because I could not believe what had just happened. I had to reread the end a couple of times; I was in that much SHOCK! It was a brilliant twist that I totally did not see at all!

Cat Patrick comes up with great, unique ideas for her books. Except, I feel like the problem is that they end too soon without any sequels. There could possibly be a sequel after Revived, but I think it’s a stand-alone novel which really upsets me. (I WANT A SEQUEL!) Overall, Revived was a much more emotional read that focused less on the drug, Revive, and more about the aspects of a teenage life (with of course the mysteries that involve being a part of a secret government agency) ;).

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Revived?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Revived by Cat Patrick | Book Review

  1. Austin Bishop says:

    I personally think character driven books are better, and it sounds like this is one of those. It’s not really in my typical genre of reading, but I might try reading it if I get a chance.

Leave a reply!

