Top Ten Most Vivid Worlds/Settings in Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

                        

1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

The world Leigh Bardugo created was amazing! Her writing was so beautifully descriptive that I could vividly imagine the Shadowfold and the Little Palace in my mind. It was like I was there with Alina experiencing what she was.

2. The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, & Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

I don’t know why, but it’s always easiest for me to picture dystopian worlds. And, Suzanne Collins created an outstanding dystopian society in The Hunger Games series. The Capital, the arenas, and each district. I really felt like I could picture that future world very well in my mind.

3. Divergent & Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Sorry, but I HAD to mention this series! It’s the BEST! And, in Divergent I could easily picture what the Dauntless faction would look like!

4. Graceling, Fire, & Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore

I could clearly imagine a world with Graces and human monsters. The way Kristin Cashore writes is incredible & surreal! I absolutely love her style of writing and her words can weave together incredibly, unique worlds!

5. Across the Universe & A Million Suns by Beth Revis

Just saying, Godspeed sounds like one heck of a ship which I would love to ride on some time!

6. Wither & Fever by Lauren DeStefano

This world where boys only live to 25 and girls to 20 isn’t very difficult to imagine. And, the way Lauren DeStefano describes it really outlines the bleakness & despair our future world has been thrust into. Also, goodness, I felt like I was there with Rhine & Gabriel throughout their time in the carnival. It was horrible!

7. Legend by Marie Lu

Marie Lu made it easy to dream up the Republic in my mind. While I was reading, it was like I was walking down the streets of the Republic with Day and June.

8. Uglies, Pretties, Specials, & Extras by Scott Westerfeld

I really enjoyed the Uglies series and I could actually fantasize about this world.

9. A Great and Terrible Beauty, Rebel Angels, & The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray

The Realms Libba Bray created have been engraved in my mind! I wish as I child I could have imagined up The Realms to play in them (when they weren’t evil)!

10. The Goose Girl, Emma Burning, River Secrets, & Forest Born by Shannon Hale

I’m a big fan of Shanon Hale and the world she created for this series was just great!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Vivid Worlds/Settings in Books

Leave a reply!

