Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo | Book Review

Pages: 358

Publisher: Henry Holt And Company

Format: Hardcover

Source: Public Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha…and the secrets of her heart.

Rating: Amazing read!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

If you’ve read my About Me page, then you’ll know that fantasy is one of my favorite genres. Except, I feel like I haven’t read any extremely good fantasy books in what seems like forever. Finally, that crisis is over! Because, let me tell you, Shadow and Bone is probably one of the BEST fantasy books I’ve EVER read! It’s made me fall in love with this genre all over again! This is the reason I love fantasy so much!

The prologue starts off describing Alina’s childhood which I loved. Flashbacks are always awesome :D! Then, we’re thrust into this strange, unique world. The beginning of Shadow and Bone was super speedy and captivating where we got to meet & learn about the characters. But, towards the middle, the story slowed down a bit and I’m sorry to say that I found it a bit dull. Although, THE ENDING WAS ACTION-PACKED AND EXTREMELY INTENSE! I loved it!!!!!

Alina is our main character. In the first half of the book, I was like, “ehh I don’t really like or dislike her”. But, I freaking loved her towards the end! The growth she went through from the weak, scrawny, and awkward girl to the courageous, strong, and more self-confident woman was amazing to read about.

My opinion with Mal seriously changed over the book, also. I did NOT like him for most of the book. I actually was pretty angry at him for ignoring Alina and acting like a jerk. But, oh my goodness, at the end he totally changes! He was so sweet and I really began to like him towards the ending. He was smart, brave, selfless, and you could tell how much he really cared for Alina!

*creepy music begins to play* The Darkling! *shudder* He was a super twisted character and that’s all I’m going to say without spoiling the book. He just really creeped me out!

For me, it wasn’t the characters that made the book, but the plot and world Leigh Bardugo created. Shadow and Bone was done beautifully and the writing was spectacular. While I was reading, I could clearly picture the Shadowfold, the Little Palace, and the different kinds of Grisha in my mind. It was great! Seriously, go read this book if you haven’t! NOW!

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Shadow and Bone?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a reply!

