The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa | Book Review

Pages: 485

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Format: Hardcover

Source: Public Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

“In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.”Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of “them.” The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked–and given the ultimate choice. Die…or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend–a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn’t easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what–and who–is worth dying for.

Rating: Amazing read!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

One of my good friends who has a similar taste in books as me warned me that The Immortal Rules would not be a good book, but I have no idea what she was talking about! Julie Kagawa has done it again! The Immortal Rules was an unexpectedly, astonishing, entertaining read that held me captivated the whole time. Actually while I was reading it on the airplane I totally missed the dinner and drink cart that passed by. Whoops!

The main problem my friend said she had was with the vampires. Yet again, I have no clue what on earth she could have been referring to! The vampires Julie Kagawa created were pretty unique in my eyes and not like the Twilight vampires my friend had warned me of. I thought that it was interesting how their super-healing relied on how much human blood they had drank. Also, how they could not live without human blood without going crazy. They couldn’t take animal blood instead; they had to have human blood. And, the world! I loved the new idea of vampire cities, rabids, and the unregistered.

Wow! Allison can kick some major butt! She’s always had to fight to survive and her resilience & will to live really shows throughout the book. I loved how hard she fought to hold on her humanity, it was one of my favorite things about her. Not only is she totally kick-ass, but she’s kind, loving, strong, brave, and selfless. Also, she’s always cracking witty comments even at the most inappropriate of times which never failed to make me laugh. Can’t wait to see more of her!

Finally, a sweet, kind-hearted guy who I actually liked! For some reason, I tend to lean towards the “bad boys” except this time I totally fell for Zeke! He was so sincere and always wanted to help in some way. Plus, he’s super caring, brave, strong, and loyal!

I loved the ending! I personally thought it was the perfect ending for The Immortal Rules. And, I cannot wait for more!

The Immortal Rules is an action-packed, fast-paced read that you won’t be able to put down. You’ll instantly fall for Allison and Zeke! It is another incredible book by Julie Kagawa!!! Can’t wait for the sequel!

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of The Immortal Rules?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a reply!

