Pages: 327

Publisher: HarperTeen

Format: Hardcover

Source: Public Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself- and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Rating: great read

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

Before I can talk about the amazingness that is The Selection, I just have to have a fan girl moment over this cover! You might not know this about me, but my favorite color is blue. Actually ask any of my friends and they’ll tell you I’m quite obsessed with it. So, obviously, I instantly fell in love with this cover at first glance. Not only is the main color scheme a brilliant blue, but the dresses are gorgeous & reminds me of a fairytale! Also, the background reminds me of ice or a ruined mirror. I just loved this cover from the start!

I really enjoyed reading The Selection. It was a good, entertaining read that never left me bored. I’ve heard it being described as the Hunger Games meets the Bachelor, but The Selection lacked the action that the Hunger Games had. I’m not saying this is bad because I loved the book without it. The Selection had a lot more to do with romance and friendship than action which I was fine with.

America Singer is one of my new favorite heroines! She’s sweet, kind, caring, sassy, blunt, and true to herself. She had a very likeable personality and I enjoyed reading about her. When she first met Prince Maxon it left me with tears in my eyes from laughing so hard! I was not expecting their first encounter to turn out that way, but it worked very well. Plus, she’s not afraid to speak out the truth or what’s on her mind. Another one of my favorite moments was when she requested to be allowed to wear pants if she won the bet against Maxon!

The guys… At first I loved Aspen. I just loved America and Aspen’s relationship. But, then it kind of went downhill and I was fuming at him for treating America that way. I actually enjoyed not having him in most of the book. And, Prince Maxon! I LOVED LOVED LOVED him! He was just so sweet it was adorable. And, you could see how dedicated and hardworking he was to his country. Plus, the way he treated America really surprised me. I was expecting a much ruder, spoiled prince and Maxon ended up blowing me away. I’m rooting for him all the way!!

Overall, The Selection was a nice, romantic read that I was very satisfied with. The ending left a lot of room for the sequel, The Elite, and I have very high expectations for it! I’d love to see more action, learn more about the rebels, see more of the queen, have more Maxon moments, and have more questions answered! Can’t wait for the sequel!

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of The Selection?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

