Pretty Crooked by Elisa Ludwig | Book Review

Pages: 358

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Format: Hardcover

Source: Public Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Willa’s secret plan seems all too simple: take from the rich kids at Valley Prep and give to the poor ones.

Yet Willa’s turn as Robin Hood at her ultra-exclusive high school is anything but. Bilking her “friends”-known to everyone as the Glitterati-without them suspecting a thing, is far from easy. Learning how to pick pockets and break into lockers is as difficult as she’d thought it’d be. Delivering care packages to the scholarship girls, who are ostracized just for being from the “wrong” side of town, is way more fun than she’d expected.

The complication Willa didn’t expect, though, is Aidan Murphy, Valley Prep’s most notorious (and gorgeous) ace-degenerate. His mere existence is distracting Willa from what matters most to her-evening the social playing field between the have and have-nots. There’s no time for crushes and flirting with boys, especially conceited and obnoxious trust-funders like Aidan.

But when the cops start investigating the string of burglaries at Valley Prep and the Glitterati begin to seek revenge, could he wind up being the person that Willa trusts most?

Rating: ok read

book 2 book 2

Pretty Crooked started off as a great read! I really enjoyed the first half of this book and I wanted more! But, the ending was just not for me. I did not enjoy it very much. The part that saved Pretty Crooked was how much I enjoyed reading it at first.

I really liked Willa, but I never loved her. She was a fun character who just wanted to fit in at a new school. And, Cherise was a sweet girl who I’m glad Willa became friends with. But, the group Willa decided to hang out the Glitterati… Seriously, all you had to do was look at the name and realize that group of girls was trouble!!!!

And, when Willa decided to help the Glitterati’s victims I was like “you go girl”! Except the problem was how she wanted to help them. I knew she was going to steal from the book description, but I did not enjoy the stealing scenes much. It wasn’t as exciting as I thought it’d be and it felt kind of wrong. I know these girls were bullies, but there’s a better way to fix the problem. So, no offense to anyone, but Willa wasn’t much of a Robin Hood in my eyes. Plus, the whole situation didn’t seem very realistic. Usually I’m a huge fan of out-of-this-world books, but I was imagined Pretty Crooked as a more realistic read.

But, I loved Aidan!! My favorite moments in Pretty Crooked involved Willa and Aidan! I just loved all his wise crack comments. They always had me laughing! And, I just realized that I started to like this book less when Aidan kind of disappeared from it.

The ending! What was up with that?? I seriously had to reread it at least five times because I was so majorly confused. It wasn’t even much of a cliffhanger because I couldn’t fully comprehend the whole situation.

Overall, the first part of Pretty Crooked was entertaining and fun, but then it went downhill towards the end of Willa’s stealing scams. Pretty Crooked could have been a wonderful stand-alone novel, but I felt like too much effort was put into the possibility of a sequel. (There definitely is one). Plus, I felt like none of my questions were answered throughout this book! I like mysteries, but I would have enjoyed a few answers here and there.

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Pretty Crooked?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a reply!

