Slide by Jill Hathaway | Book Review

Pages: 250

Publisher: Balzer + Bray for HarperCollins

Format: Hardcover

Source: Public Library

Age Group: Young Adult

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Vee Bell is certain of one irrefutable truth—her sister’s friend Sophie didn’t kill herself. She was murdered.

Vee knows this because she was there. Everyone believes Vee is narcoleptic, but she doesn’t actually fall asleep during these episodes: When she passes out, she slides into somebody else’s mind and experiences the world through that person’s eyes. She’s slid into her sister as she cheated on a math test, into a teacher sneaking a drink before class. She learned the worst about a supposed “friend” when she slid into her during a school dance. But nothing could have prepared Vee for what happens one October night when she slides into the mind of someone holding a bloody knife, standing over Sophie’s slashed body.

Vee desperately wishes she could share her secret, but who would believe her? It sounds so crazy that she can’t bring herself to tell her best friend, Rollins, let alone the police. Even if she could confide in Rollins, he has been acting off lately, more distant, especially now that she’s been spending more time with Zane.

Enmeshed in a terrifying web of secrets, lies, and danger and with no one to turn to, Vee must find a way to unmask the killer before he or she strikes again.

Rating: Great read!

book 2 book 2 book 2 book 2

I wasn’t expecting much out of Slide, but Jill Hathaway shocked me with a book that quickly captivated my attention. The unique idea of sliding into someone else’s body & mind was so interesting and different. I had a lot of fun reading about this new ability and it was really well done.

Right from the beginning, I was hooked! Slide was a fast-paced, action-packed, suspense-filled read that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time! Throughout the book, I was trying to figure out who the killer was. I loved looking at the clues Vee found while trying to piece together the culprit. I got so siked whenever I thought I had found our murderer, and eventually my list of suspects lessened down to the right one!

But, I felt like the ending of the book was a bit rushed. At the end the problem was quickly solved, and I would have liked to see what would have happened if that ending scene hadn’t occurred. Also, I wasn’t too surprised when I found out who the killer was since there were a lot of clues pointing in that direction.

I really enjoyed reading about Vee. She was so loyal to her sister even though they weren’t very close and I loved that about her. Plus, I liked Rollins when he wasn’t fighting with Vee. Their relationship was so cute! But, the whole thing with Zane was nice until the end. I was a bit creeped out by that piece of information and I don’t think I’ll be able to think about Zane & Vee normally ever again.

Slide was a read that surprisingly blew me away. The concept of the book was new & fresh which was a nice break from the same paranormal themes I’ve been reading lately. It was a nice, fast read that I would recommend to people who enjoy murder mysteries with a twist.

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Slide?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Slide by Jill Hathaway | Book Review

  1. Book marketing says:

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

    • Vivalabooks says:

      THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!! (Sorry it took so long to respond. For some reason wordpress put your comment as spam.) This seriously just made my life!!! Thank you!

Leave a reply!

