Don’t Breathe a Word by Holly Cupala | Book Review

Pages: 299

Publisher: HarperTeen

Format: Paperback

Source: Public Library

Age Group: Young Adult

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Joy Delamere is suffocating…

From asthma, which has nearly claimed her life. From her parents, who will do anything to keep that from happening. From delectably dangerous Asher, who is smothering her from the inside out.

Joy can take his words—tender words, cruel words—until the night they go too far.

Now, Joy will leave everything behind to find the one who has offered his help, a homeless boy called Creed. She will become someone else. She will learn to survive. She will breathe… if only she can get to Creed before it’s too late.

Set against the gritty backdrop of Seattle’s streets and a cast of characters with secrets of their own, Holly Cupala’s powerful new novel explores the subtleties of abuse, the meaning of love, and how far a girl will go to discover her own strength.

Rating: It was alright, but it wasn’t for me 

          So, my friend who has a very similar taste in books recommended Don’t Breathe a Word to me, and I had very high expectations for it. Unfortunately, Don’t Breathe a Word did not live up to my hopes.

          I felt like it was a slow-paced, depressing read that bored me a bit. But, the environment in Don’t Breathe a Word was very real. It opened up my eyes to the hardships in life and to how lucky I am.

          The main character Joy, who later changes her name to Triste, has lived a very sad, trapped life, and throughout many struggles she remains brave. Yet, for some strange reason I found myself not really liking Joy/Triste. She wasn’t a bad character, but I just didn’t feel really intrigued by her.

          Also, her relationship with Asher, her creepy boyfriend, was just awful. He is definitely not the kind of boyfriend any girl wants, and it aggravated me how she let him treat her the way he did. I wish she would have stood up for herself sooner, and maybe I would have liked her better.

          And, Creed, the homeless boy who offered her help. Oh, I wish there was more Creed in this book because I really liked him. He was probably my favorite character in the whole book because he was noble, brave, and kind-hearted. Also, he had an amazing singing voice (which I wish I could listen to).

Overall, Don’t Breathe a Word was an o.k. read, but I just didn’t get absorbed into it.

– Amanda

Tell me what you thought of Don’t Breathe a Word by Holly Cupala in the comments below. Did you enjoy it? Who was your favorite character? Do you disagree with my review? Did my review help you? Thanks for reading the blog!

2 thoughts on “Don’t Breathe a Word by Holly Cupala | Book Review

  1. Missie says:

    Awe. Too bad this one didn’t work for you, but I do know that feeling of being let down when you expected more. It’s definitely not fun to feel bored. I have yet to read this one, but I think I might pass for now.

Leave a reply!

