Fever by Lauren DeStefano | Book Review

Pages: 341

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Format: Hardcover

Source: Public Library

Age Group: Young Adult

*spoiler alert for those who haven’t read The Chemical Garden series beforehand*

AMAZON

GOODREADS SUMMARY

Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion, but danger is never far behind.

Running away brings Rhine and Gabriel right into a trap, in the form of a twisted carnival whose ringmistress keeps watch over a menagerie of girls. Just as Rhine uncovers what plans await her, her fortune turns again. With Gabriel at her side, Rhine travels through an environment as grim as the one she left a year ago – surroundings that mirror her own feelings of fear and hopelessness.

The two are determined to get to Manhattan, to relative safety with Rhine’s twin brother, Rowan. But the road there is long and perilous – and in a world where young women only live to age twenty and young men die at twenty-five, time is precious. Worse still, they can’t seem to elude Rhine’s father-in-law, Vaughn, who is determined to bring Rhine back to the mansion…by any means necessary.

In the sequel to Lauren DeStefano’s harrowing Wither, Rhine must decide if freedom is worth the price – now that she has more to lose than ever.

Rating: Good, but there was something missing.

book 2 book 2 book 2

Wow! Isn’t this cover just gorgeous! The Chemical Garden covers are always so riveting and eye-catching, and it’s like they’re begging me to pick them up. I mean look at how cool the cover of Fever is! It gives off this enchanting yet creepy vibe that draws you in.

Well, in Lauren DeStefano’s Fever, the second book in The Chemical Garden series, we are now experiencing the world outside the mansion. And, man is that world messed up! I didn’t completely realize how awfully destroyed their world was until Rhine and Gabriel were actually experiencing it. Rhine’s life inside the mansion didn’t seem as bad now that I was experiencing this awful outside world, but I’m still glad she ran away.

The creepy carnival with its even weirder ring mistress was just unbelievably spooky and disgusting! The way she treated the girls was just horrible. I couldn’t believe the terrors Rhine and Gabriel experienced.

Gabriel and Rhine are such a cute couple, but they hit some bumps along the road in their relationship during Fever. They were still a few cute, memorable moments, but they had to fight through a lot of despair throughout the book.

I think Fever was a harder read than Wither because we were experiencing the outside world, not the sheltered world inside the mansion. I mean the world inside the mansion wasn’t any good, but the horrors in the outside world were astonishing. However, what do you expect out of a world where men die at age 25 and women at age 20.

Throughout Fever, I felt Rhine losing her fierce grip on her life. Vaughn, her creepy father-in-law, is chasing her down with only one goal in mind: taking her back to the mansion. So, Rhine and Gabriel are trying to run as far away as possible from Vaughn to her twin brother, Rowan, in Manhattan. But, they experience so many terrible hardships that make their journey more difficult. At moments, I just wanted to throw Fever down in desperation for Rhine and Gabriel’s safety.

Ohhh, the ending! I didn’t know exactly what I was expecting, but what I got was something I didn’t want at all. I mean it was a great, suspenseful conclusion, but I did NOT want it to end like that. Plus, the MAJOR cliffhanger we’re left with is always “great”. I never saw it coming, but I can’t wait to get my hands on Sever, the final book in the Chemical Garden series.

Fever was a bit of a slow read towards the end, but trust me you’ll be begging for more once you read that last page.

Comment down below!

Did you find this review helpful?

What did you think of Fever?

Thanks for reading Vivalabooks!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Fever by Lauren DeStefano | Book Review

  1. Courtney (@Shortskiee) says:

    I’m reading this book right now. I adored Wither. The juxtaposition between the outside and the mansion really exploded when Rhine left for good. I’m only up to the part where they just escaped the Carnival and my skin is littered with goosebumps from the disgusting and vile place that Madame had created. Wonderful review 😀

    Shortskie @ Rondo of a Possible World

    • Vivalabooks says:

      Yeah, the Carnival was just plain old creepy! I get shivers whenever I think about the world DeStefano created. And, thank you so much! It really means a lot to me that you took the time to check out my blog and comment! THANKS! 😀

Leave a reply!

